Man facing a toilet holding toilet paper

Diarrhea

Understand what it is, its causes and when you should be concerned about diarrhea.

People suffering from diarrhea experience frequent, loose, watery stools. This disorder can affect people of all ages but is particularly worrisome in the young and old because of the threat of dehydration. Diarrhea lasting for more than 2 days may be a sign of a more serious problem.

Acute diarrhea

Physicians talk about two types of diarrhea. Acute diarrhea can be caused by bacterial, viral, or parasitic infections, food intolerance, or reactions to medicine and lasts a short time.

Chronic diarrhea

Chronic diarrhea is usually related to other digestive disorders such as irritable bowel syndrome or inflammatory bowel disease and may last for the duration of the illness. Diarrhea can be a symptom of intestinal infection, celiac disease or lactose intolerance.

Traveler’s diarrhea

People who visit foreign countries are at risk for traveler’s diarrhea, which is caused by eating food or drinking water contaminated with bacteria, viruses, or parasites. Traveler’s diarrhea can be a problem for people visiting developing countries.

Is diarrhea common?

Research funding for diarrhea is very low in spite of the high mortality rates. Each year, 4.5 billion people contract diarrhea worldwide. In Canada, 86% of acute gastrointestinal illnesses involve diarrhea and approximately 25% of people taking antibiotic medicines develop diarrhea. Over-the-counter retail sales for diarrhea remedies doubled between 2003 and 2008 to equal $50 million in 2008.

What causes diarrhea?

Food intolerances or allergies may be the cause of your diarrhea. Your doctor may ask you to avoid lactose, carbohydrates, wheat, or other foods. If you diarrhea stops when these items are removed from your diet, curing your diarrhea may involve changing your diet.

If the cause of your diarrhea is not easily determined and it does not resolve itself, your doctor may send you for a sigmoidoscopy, colonoscopy or imaging tests to have a look at your digestive tract from the inside.

Can I prevent diarrhea?

Trying a bulking agent such as psyllium may be helpful. Bulking agents help hold water in the stool and add bulk which may slow your bowel movements down. Don’t be confused by labels that say bulking agents are for constipation. These products can be helpful for both diarrhea and constipation.

You may also try to avoid foods that have a tendency to aggravate your diarrhea. These include caffeine, milk products, and foods that are greasy, high in fibre and/or very sweet.

Diarrhea may be accompanied by cramping, abdominal pain, bloating, nausea, or an urgent need to use the bathroom. Sometimes diarrhea may be accompanied by fever or bloody stools and/or severe pain in the abdominal or rectum. If you experience these symptoms or dehydration, you need to see your doctor.

Signs of dehydration that accompany diarrhea may include:

  • thirst,
  • infrequent urination, 
  • dark-colored urine, 
  • dry skin, 
  • fatigue, 
  • light-headedness. 

If you have a child with diarrhea, watch carefully for additional indicators of dehydration which may include:

  • dry mouth, 
  • tearless crying, 
  • dry diapers, 
  • sunken abdomen, eyes, or cheeks 

A child can die from dehydration within a few days so it is very important to contact your doctor immediately if you child has diarrhea for more than a day.

Testing for diarrhea

Often diagnosis is based on questions your doctor asks about your eating habits, recent use of medications, recent travel experiences and physical examination.

  • Stool cultures can be analyzed in a laboratory to check for bacteria, parasites, or other signs of disease and infection.
  • Blood tests help rule out certain diseases.
  • Allergy tests and determining food intolerances: Oftentimes, diarrhea is caused due to an intolerance or allergy to certain types of foods. Talk to your doctor about working on an elimination diet to determine which of the things you are eating is causing your diarrhea. Things like lactose, wheat, and carbohydrates are often the culprits.

Treating diarrhea

In most cases of diarrhea, replacing lost fluid to prevent dehydration is the only treatment necessary.

Fluid and electrolytes that help our bodies function are lost when we have diarrhea. These need to be replaced quickly. Water does not contain electrolytes. Broth and soups that contain sodium, and fruit juices, soft fruits, or vegetables that contain potassium, help restore electrolyte levels. Over-the-counter rehydration solutions such as Pedialyte, Ceralyte, and Infalyte are also good electrolyte sources, especially for children.

Medications

Medicines that stop diarrhea may be helpful, but they are unlikely to resolve the problem if your diarrhea is caused by a bacterial infection or parasite. In these cases, doctors usually prescribe antibiotics. If a viral infection is the cause of your diarrhea, you may or may not be treated with medication depending on the severity of the infection and type of virus.

Managing diarrhea

Treatment of diarrhea involves replacing lost fluid and electrolytes. Depending on the cause of the problem, a person might also need medication to stop the diarrhea or treat an infection. Children may need an oral rehydration solution to replace lost fluid and electrolytes.

Keep a food diary if diarrhea occurs intermittently

Monitor the foods you eat and the reactions your body has. This may help identify a food intolerance or celiac disease which would explain your diarrhea and allow you to make a decision to change your diet and relieve your diarrhea.

It is important to remember that if you have diarrhea for several days or develop a new onset of diarrhea, fever or severe abdominal pain, you should see your doctor.

  • There are about 2 billion cases of diarrheal disease worldwide every year. (World Gastroenterology Organisation 2012)
  • Chronic diarrhea is usually related to other digestive disorders such as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) or irritable bowel syndrome (IBS). Diarrhea can also be a symptom of intestinal infection, celiac disease or lactose intolerance.
  • In the Western population, the estimated prevalence of chronic diarrhea is 4 to 5%. (Arasaradnam et al. 2018)
  • Acute diarrhea is the second most common reason travellers returning from developing countries seek medical attention. (Hatchette et al. 2011)
  • The incidence of travellers’ diarrhea ranges from 20 to 90% among those travelling up to two weeks in high risk regions (low and middle income countries). (The Committee to Advise on Tropical Medicine and Travel 2015)
  • A 2017 study in the US demonstrated that on average, each patient with IBS with diarrhea spent US$2,268 more per year, of which 78% were from medical costs and 22% were from prescription costs. (Buono et al. 2017)
  • In 2008, Canadians spent $50 million on diarrheal remedies. (Fedorak et al. 2012) 

Citations:

Arasaradnam RP et al. Guidelines for the investigation of chronic diarrhoea in adults: British Society of Gastroenterology, 3rd edition. Gut. 2018 Aug;67(8):1380-99.

Buono JL et al. Economic burden of irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhea: Retrospective analysis of a U.S. commercially insured population. J Manag Care Spec Pharm. 2017 Apr;23(4):453-60.

Fedorak RN et al. Canadian Digestive Health Foundation Public Impact Series 3: Irritable bowel syndrome in Canada. Incidence, prevalence, and direct and indirect economic impact. Can J Gastroenterol. 2012 May;26(5):252-6.

Hatchette TF and Farina D. Infectious diarrhea: When to test and when to treat. CMAJ. 2011 Feb 22; 183(3):339-44.

I am  travelling to a developing country and am afraid of developing traveller’s diarrhea. What can I do to protect myself?

People who visit foreign countries are at risk for traveler’s diarrhea, which is caused by eating food or drinking water contaminated with bacteria, viruses, or parasites. Although there are antibiotic prophylaxis available, they are not recommended in most cases. While you are travelling, wash your hands with warm, soapy water, drink bottled water and eat food that are served warm and cooked thoroughly. Try to avoid tap water (including ice), dairy products, raw vegetables, uncooked meats, and seafood. Foods that are usually safe to drink include hot coffee and tea, beer, wine and carbonated beverages. Fruits and vegetables that can be peeled are generally safe to eat.

Can you die from diarrhea?

Fluid and electrolytes help our bodies function. If we are dehydrated, water and electrolytes are lost and need to be replaced. If a person is severely dehydrated because of diarrhea, they can die. This is why it is important – particularly for children and the elderly – to seek medical attention if they have diarrhea that stretched over into a second day, have severe abdominal pain or cramping, fever or show signs of dehydration.

My symptoms are frequent diarrhea with undigested food in stool. What would cause this?

Diarrhea is a symptom that can result from many different causes. You would be wise to see your doctor. Below are some questions you may be asked by your doctor are:

  • How long have you had this problem?
  • Where you have traveled in the recent past?
  • Were you taking antibiotics before the onset of the diarrhea?
  • Has a new medication been prescribed for you? If so, what and when?
  • What other symptoms are you experiencing? (ie. bleeding, weight loss)

The answers to these questions will help your doctor decide whether you need to be referred to a specialist for further investigation. You may need to have routine blood work done as well as stool tests for bacterial cultures looking for parasites and a special bacterial infection called Clostridium difficile.

Related Articles:

View all News & Articles

Toilet paper with smiley face

Is my Poop Healthy/Normal?

antibiotics

Should You Take Probiotics While on Antibiotics?

A Pharmacist’s Guide to Choosing the Right Probiotic

Culturelle Probiotic Box

Culturelle Probiotics® – CDHF Certified Product

Women with balloon in front of her belly

Demystifying Digestive Issues: What to Consider with Bloating, Reflux, and Changes in Bowels

Functional Foods with Added Probiotics

Doctors smiling and shaking hands

Understanding IBS-D Webinar

Man and women clenching their stomachs feeling sick

DUKORAL® Materials Requisition

Kids running outside with pool floaties on vacation

The Facts on Diarrhea when Travelling

Family at christmas around the table

Top Tips for Digestive Troubles

CDHF Talks: Stool Tests for GI Disorders

Dukoral box and glass of water on a kitchen counter

Dukoral – CDHF Certified Product

Diarrhée

Comprenez ce que c’est, ses causes et quand vous devriez vous inquiéter de la diarrhée.

Les personnes souffrant de diarrhée ont des selles fréquentes, molles et liquides. Ce trouble peut toucher des personnes de tous âges mais est particulièrement inquiétant chez les jeunes et les moins jeunes en raison de la menace de déshydratation. Une diarrhée qui dure plus de 2 jours peut être le signe d’un problème plus grave.

Diarrhée aiguë

Les médecins parlent de deux types de diarrhée. La diarrhée aiguë peut être causée par des infections bactériennes, virales ou parasitaires, une intolérance alimentaire ou des réactions aux médicaments et dure peu de temps.

Diarrhée chronique

La diarrhée chronique est généralement liée à d’autres troubles digestifs tels que le syndrome du côlon irritable ou une maladie intestinale inflammatoire et peut durer pendant toute la durée de la maladie. La diarrhée peut être un symptôme d’infection intestinale, de maladie coeliaque ou d’intolérance au lactose.

Diarrhée du voyageur

Les personnes qui visitent des pays étrangers sont à risque de diarrhée du voyageur, qui est causée par la consommation d’aliments ou d’eau potable contaminés par des bactéries, des virus ou des parasites. La diarrhée du voyageur peut être un problème pour les personnes visitant les pays en développement.

La diarrhée est-elle courante ?

Le financement de la recherche sur la diarrhée est très faible malgré les taux de mortalité élevés. Chaque année, 4,5 milliards de personnes contractent la diarrhée dans le monde entier. Environ 86 p. cent des maladies gastro-intestinales aiguës dans les villes canadiennes comprennent la diarrhée. Au Canada, le volume des médicaments en vente libre pour le traitement de la diarrhée a doublé entre 2003 et 2008 et est arrivé à 50 millions de dollars en 2008.

Ce qui cause la diarrhée?

Des intolérances ou allergies alimentaires peuvent être à l’origine de votre diarrhée. Votre médecin peut vous demander d’éviter le lactose, les glucides, le blé ou d’autres aliments. Si votre diarrhée s’arrête lorsque ces éléments sont retirés de votre alimentation, la guérison de votre diarrhée peut impliquer de modifier votre alimentation.

Si la cause de votre diarrhée n’est pas facile à déterminer et qu’elle ne se résout pas, votre médecin peut vous faire passer une sigmoïdoscopie, une coloscopie ou des tests d’imagerie pour examiner votre tube digestif de l’intérieur.

Puis-je prévenir la diarrhée ?

Essayer un agent gonflant comme le psyllium peut être utile. Les agents gonflants aident à retenir l’eau dans les selles et à ajouter du volume, ce qui peut ralentir vos selles. Ne soyez pas confus par les étiquettes qui disent que les agents gonflants sont pour la constipation. Ces produits peuvent être utiles pour la diarrhée et la constipation.

Vous pouvez également essayer d’éviter les aliments qui ont tendance à aggraver votre diarrhée. Ceux-ci comprennent la caféine, les produits laitiers et les aliments gras, riches en fibres et/ou très sucrés.

La diarrhée peut être accompagnée de crampes, de douleurs abdominales, de ballonnements, de nausées ou d’un besoin urgent d’aller aux toilettes. Parfois, la diarrhée peut être accompagnée de fièvre ou de selles sanglantes et/ou de fortes douleurs abdominales ou rectales. Si vous ressentez ces symptômes ou une déshydratation, vous devez consulter votre médecin.

Les signes de déshydratation qui accompagnent la diarrhée peuvent inclure :

  • la soif,
  • miction peu fréquente, 
  • urine de couleur foncée, 
  • peau sèche,
  • fatigue, 
  • étourdissements. 

Si vous avez un enfant souffrant de diarrhée, surveillez attentivement les autres indicateurs de déshydratation qui peuvent inclure :

  • bouche sèche, 
  • pleurs sans larmes,
  • couches sèches, 
  • abdomen, yeux ou joues enfoncés 

Un enfant peut mourir de déshydratation en quelques jours. Il est donc très important de contacter immédiatement votre médecin si votre enfant a la diarrhée pendant plus d’une journée.

Tests et diagnostic

Souvent le diagnostic repose sur des questions que votre médecin vous demande à propos de vos habitudes alimentaires, de l’administration récente des médicaments, de vos plus récents voyages et des examens médicaux que vous avez passés.

  • Les cultures de selles peuvent être analysées dans un laboratoire pour détecter les bactéries, les parasites ou d’autres signes de maladies et d’infections
  • Les tests sanguins aident à exclure certaines maladies
  • Tests d’allergie et détermination des intolérances alimentaires : Elles peuvent être la cause de votre diarrhée. Votre médecin peut vous demander d’éviter le lactose, les glucides, le blé ou d’autres aliments. Si vous diarrhée s’arrête lorsque ces éléments sont supprimés de votre alimentation, la guérison de votre diarrhée peut tout simplement consister à changer vos habitudes alimentaires. Si votre diarrhée persiste et sa cause est inconnue, le médecin peut vous recommander d’effectuer une sigmoïdoscopie, une coloscopie ou des tests d’imagerie afin de visualiser l’intérieur de votre tube digestif.

Options de traitement

Dans la plupart des cas de diarrhée, il suffit de remplacer le liquide perdu pour empêcher la déshydratation.

La diarrhée entraine la perte des liquides et des sels minéraux qui assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos organes. Ceux-ci doivent être remplacés rapidement chez les enfants spécifiquement. L’eau ne contient pas des sels minéraux (ou électrolytes). Pour maintenir les niveaux d’électrolytes, on peut consommer des bouillons ou des soupes, qui contiennent du sodium, et des jus de fruits, des fruits tendres ou des légumes, qui contiennent du potassium. Il existe des solutions de réhydratation en vente libre dans les pharmacies telles que les marques Pedialyte, Ceralyte et Infalyte qui sont également des sources de sels minéraux.

Médicaments

Dans certains cas, les médicaments peuvent arrêter la diarrhée, mais ils sont trop souvent inutiles lorsque la diarrhée est causée par une infection bactérienne ou un parasite. Les médecins préfèrent généralement prescrire des antibiotiques le cas échéant. Les diarrhées causées par des virus peuvent être traitées par un médicament ou laissées à leur cours, selon la gravité et le type de virus.

Comment gérer la diarrhée

Le traitement de la diarrhée consiste à remplacer les liquides et les électrolytes perdus. Selon la cause du problème, une personne peut également avoir besoin de médicaments pour arrêter la diarrhée ou traiter une infection. Les enfants peuvent avoir besoin d’une solution de réhydratation orale pour remplacer les liquides et les électrolytes perdus.

Tenir un journal alimentaire si la diarrhée survient par intermittence

Surveillez les aliments que vous mangez et les réactions de votre corps. Cela peut aider à identifier une intolérance alimentaire ou une maladie cœliaque qui expliquerait votre diarrhée et vous permettrait de prendre la décision de modifier votre alimentation et de soulager votre diarrhée.

Il est important de se rappeler que si vous avez la diarrhée pendant plusieurs jours ou si vous développez une nouvelle diarrhée, de la fièvre ou des douleurs abdominales sévères, vous devez consulter votre médecin.

  • Il y a environ 2 milliards de cas de maladies diarrhéiques dans le monde chaque année. (Organisation mondiale de gastroentérologie 2012)
  • La diarrhée chronique est généralement liée à d’autres troubles digestifs tels que la maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (MICI) ou le syndrome du côlon irritable (SCI). La diarrhée peut également être un symptôme d’infection intestinale, de maladie coeliaque ou d’intolérance au lactose.
  • Dans la population occidentale, la prévalence estimée de la diarrhée chronique est de 4 à 5 %. (Arasaradnam et al. 2018)
  • La diarrhée aiguë est la deuxième raison la plus courante pour laquelle les voyageurs revenant de pays en développement consultent un médecin. (Hatchette et al. 2011)
  • L’incidence de la diarrhée du voyageur varie de 20 à 90 % chez ceux qui voyagent jusqu’à deux semaines dans les régions à haut risque (pays à revenu faible et intermédiaire). (Comité consultatif sur la médecine tropicale et les voyages 2015)
  • Une étude réalisée en 2017 aux États-Unis a démontré qu’en moyenne, chaque patient atteint du SCI avec diarrhée dépensait 2 268 USD de plus par an, dont 78 % provenaient des frais médicaux et 22 % des frais de prescription. (Buono et al. 2017)
  • En 2008, les Canadiens ont dépensé 50 millions de dollars en remèdes contre la diarrhée. (Fedorak et al. 2012)

Citations :

Arasaradnam RP et al. Guidelines for the investigation of chronic diarrhoea in adults: British Society of Gastroenterology, 3rd edition. Gut. 2018 Aug;67(8):1380-99.

Buono JL et al. Economic burden of irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhea: Retrospective analysis of a U.S. commercially insured population. J Manag Care Spec Pharm. 2017 Apr;23(4):453-60.

Fedorak RN et al. Canadian Digestive Health Foundation Public Impact Series 3: Irritable bowel syndrome in Canada. Incidence, prevalence, and direct and indirect economic impact. Can J Gastroenterol. 2012 May;26(5):252-6.

Hatchette TF and Farina D. Infectious diarrhea: When to test and when to treat. CMAJ. 2011 Feb 22; 183(3):339-44.

Je voyage dans un pays en développement et j’ai peur de développer la diarrhée du voyageur. Que puis-je faire pour me protéger ?

Les personnes qui visitent des pays étrangers sont à risque de diarrhée du voyageur, qui est causée par la consommation d’aliments ou d’eau potable contaminés par des bactéries, des virus ou des parasites. Bien qu’il existe des prophylaxies antibiotiques, elles ne sont pas recommandées dans la plupart des cas. Pendant votre voyage, lavez-vous les mains avec de l’eau chaude savonneuse, buvez de l’eau en bouteille et mangez des aliments qui sont servis chauds et bien cuits. Essayez d’éviter l’eau du robinet (y compris la glace), les produits laitiers, les légumes crus, les viandes non cuites et les fruits de mer. Les aliments qui peuvent généralement être consommés sans danger comprennent le café et le thé chauds, la bière, le vin et les boissons gazeuses. Les fruits et légumes qui peuvent être pelés sont généralement sans danger pour la consommation.

Peut-on mourir de diarrhée ?

Les liquides et les électrolytes aident notre corps à fonctionner. Si nous sommes déshydratés, l’eau et les électrolytes sont perdus et doivent être remplacés. Si une personne est gravement déshydratée à cause de la diarrhée, elle peut mourir. C’est pourquoi il est important – en particulier pour les enfants et les personnes âgées – de consulter un médecin s’ils ont une diarrhée qui s’étend sur un deuxième jour, des douleurs ou des crampes abdominales intenses, de la fièvre ou des signes de déshydratation.

Mes symptômes sont une diarrhée fréquente avec des aliments non digérés dans les selles. Qu’est-ce qui causerait cela ?

La diarrhée est un symptôme qui peut résulter de nombreuses causes différentes. Il serait sage de consulter votre médecin. Voici quelques questions que votre médecin pourrait vous poser :

  • Depuis combien de temps avez-vous ce problème ?
  • Où avez-vous voyagé dans un passé récent ?
  • Prenais-tu des antibiotiques avant le début de la diarrhée ?
  • Un nouveau médicament vous a-t-il été prescrit ? Si oui, quoi et quand ?
  • Quels autres symptômes éprouvez-vous ? (c.-à-d. saignement, perte de poids)

Les réponses à ces questions aideront votre médecin à décider si vous devez être référé à un spécialiste pour un examen plus approfondi. Vous devrez peut-être effectuer des analyses de sang de routine ainsi que des analyses de selles pour les cultures bactériennes à la recherche de parasites et d’une infection bactérienne spéciale appelée Clostridium difficile.

Articles Liés :

Voir toutes les nouvelles et articles

antibiotics

Faut-il prendre des probiotiques pendant la prise d’antibiotiques ?

Guide du pharmacien pour choisir le bon probiotique

Culturelle Probiotic Box

Culturelle Probiotics® – Avis sur les produits certifiés FCSD

Pensez-vous souffrir du syndrome du côlon irritable (SCI)?

Toilet paper beside the toilet

La diarrhée comme symptôme du coronavirus (COVID-19)

Les faits sur la diarrhée du voyageur

Dukoral box and glass of water on a kitchen counter

Dukoral – Avis sur les produits certifiés FCSD