Women holding chest with GERD

What is GERD and what complications can arise from it?

CDHF

Written by: CDHF

Updated: November 19th, 2022

What is GERD?

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease, commonly known as GERD is a widely experienced disorder that is the result of a disordered valve mechanism between the esophagus (swallowing tube) and the stomach.

In the normal digestive process, the valve or lower esophageal sphincter (LES), opens during swallowing to allow food to enter the stomach and then closes to prevent food and stomach secretions from moving backward into the esophagus. With GERD, the LES fails to open and close correctly, and the stomach contents—which are acidic and contain digestive secretions—can flow back into the esophagus. This reverse flow (reflux) of food, acids and the digestive enzyme pepsin, can result in heartburn (and/or other symptoms) and potentially cause damage to the lower esophageal lining.

The symptoms include:

Alarm symptoms:

There are alarm symptoms that you should watch out for that are not typical of GERD but could suggest additional, more severe health concerns. Talk to your doctor if you notice a change in your current symptoms or experience any of the following:

What’s the impact of chronic (long-lasting) GERD?

People who have severe, chronic GERD (daily heartburn over many years) can develop a condition called Barrett’s Esophagus. It is estimate that 15% of adult Canadians with GERD may develop it, so not everybody that has severe GERD will, but it’s important to understand if you are at risk.

Reflux of acid causes inflammation in the lower esophagus. As a result, the body tries to protect itself by changing the lining of the esophagus from its normal squamous lining (which is very sensitive to acid), to what’s called a columnar lining (which is not sensitive to acid). This protective action presents a problem because if you have normal squamous lining you will feel the acid, and therefore you will experience heartburn symptoms, but as the lining of the esophagus changes you are no longer sensitive to the acid. As such, a lot of people with Barrett’s Esophagus do not know they have it.

How do you know if you have Barrett’s Esophagus?

We do not fully understand the process of development of Barrett’s esophagus. However, there are risk factors for the development of Barrett’s esophagus that include:

If you start to experience excessive or daily acid reflux, you should ask your doctor about GERD. Before treating GERD, you must first be diagnosed. Most of the time, symptoms alone can provide doctors with the information they need to make a diagnosis of GERD. If symptoms respond quickly to treatment, further investigation is usually not necessary. However, if symptoms are slow to improve or persistent, treatment is required, and diagnostic tests may be needed. Ask your doctor about considering a test such as an endoscopy to visualize if there is any damage to the lining of the esophagus from reflux.  

An endoscopy is a safe procedure that takes place in a hospital or a clinic, that involves passing a slim, flexible tube (endoscope) equipped with a light and tiny camera into the esophagus. The endoscope allows your doctor to examine the esophagus, where they can see if there is inflammation caused by acid reflux as well as Barrett’s esophagus. Your physician can also use the endoscope to look at the stomach and small intestine for irregularities. Learn more about the tests available here.

Further to this, there is evidence that a small proportion of those living with Barrett’s esophagus are at an increased risk of developing esophageal cancer. Early detection is key. If you or a loved one have chronic heartburn, don’t sleep on it! Talk to your doctor.

Infographic of GERD and its complications

Related Articles:

View all News & Articles

Dispelling Common Misconceptions: Unraveling the Truth About Common GERD Food Triggers

Women holding chest with GERD

What is GERD and what complications can arise from it?

Girl holding her throat with GERD

GERD Infographic

The burning feeling of GERD

GERD Symptom Tracker

CDHF Talks: GERD and Barrett’s Esophagus

Radiofrequency Ablation Patient Story

Barrett’s Esophagus Infographic

Man holding his chest due to heartburn

Heartburn: Understanding Its Causes and Treatments

Women holding chest with GERD

Qu’est-ce que le RGO et quelles complications pourraient en découler?

CDHF

Écrit par : CDHF

Mis à jour : November 17th, 2022

Qu’est-ce que le RGO?

Le reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique, que l’on appelle communément le RGO, est un problème dont souffre un grand nombre de personnes qui est le résultat d’un trouble du mécanisme de la valve entre l’œsophage (tube de déglutition) et l’estomac.

Lors du processus normal de digestion, la valve ou le sphincter inférieur de l’œsophage (SIO), s’ouvre durant la déglutition pour permettre aux aliments d’entrer dans l’estomac, puis se referme pour empêcher les aliments et les sécrétions de l’estomac de remonter dans l’œsophage. Avec le RGO, le SIO ne s’ouvre et ne se referme pas correctement, et donc le contenu de l’estomac — qui est acide et contient des sécrétions digestives — remonte dans l’œsophage. Ce reflux de nourriture, d’acides et de pepsine (enzyme digestive) peut endommager les muqueuses de l’œsophage et causer des brûlures d’estomac (et (ou) d’autres symptômes).

Ces symptômes incluent :

Symptômes alarmants :

Il existe des symptômes alarmants que vous devriez surveiller et qui ne sont pas typiques du RGO, mais qui pourraient suggérer d’autres troubles de santé plus graves. Consultez votre médecin si vous remarquez un changement de vos symptômes actuels ou si vous ressentez les symptômes suivants :

Quelles sont les répercussions du RGO chronique (de longue durée)?

Les personnes atteintes de RGO grave et chronique (des brûlures d’estomac quotidiennes sur plusieurs années) peuvent développer une affection appelée l’œsophage de Barrett. On estime que 15 % des adultes canadiens atteints de RGO pourraient la développer, ce n’est donc pas toutes les personnes atteintes de RGO grave qui la développeront, mais il est important de comprendre si vous êtes à risque.

Le reflux gastrique peut causer de l’inflammation dans la prtie inférieure de l’œsophage . Par conséquent, le corps essaie de se protéger en modifiant la paroi de l’œsophage qui est normalement une paroi pavimenteuse (très sensible à l’acide) pour devenir ce que l’on appelle une paroi cylindrique (qui n’est pas sensible à l’acide). Cette action protectrice présente un problème parce que si vous avez une paroi pavimenteuse normale, vous ressentirez l’acide et vous éprouverez ainsi des symptômes de brûlures d’estomac, mais lorsque la paroi de l’œsophage se modifie, vous ne ressentez plus l’acide. Donc, plusieurs personnes atteintes de l’œsophage de Barrett ne savent pas qu’elles en sont atteintes.

Comment savoir si vous êtes atteint.e de l’œsophage de Barrett?

Nous ne comprenons pas entièrement le processus de développement de l’œsophage de Barrett. Il existe cependant des facteurs de risque pour le développement de l’œsophage de Barrett qui incluent :

Si vous commencez à ressentir des épisodes excessifs ou quotidiens de reflux gastrique, vous devriez vous informer au sujet du RGO auprès de votre médecin. Avant de soigner le RGO, vous devez d’abord obtenir un diagnostic. La plupart du temps, les symptômes seuls peuvent fournir aux médecins l’information dont ils ont besoin pour établir le diagnostic du RGO. Si les symptômes répondent rapidement au traitement , une enquête plus approfondie n’est généralement pas nécessaire. Par contre, si les symptômes prennent du temps à s’améliorer ou persistent, le traitement est nécessaire et des tests de diagnostic pourraient être nécessaires. Demandez à votre médecin d’envisager un test comme une endoscopie afin de visualiser s’il n’y a aucun dommage de la paroi de l’œsophage à cause du reflux.    

Une endoscopie est une intervention sécuritaire qui a lieu dans un hôpital ou une clinique et qui consiste à introduire un tube mince et flexible (l’endoscope) muni d’une lumière et d’une minuscule caméra dans l’œsophage. L’endoscope permet au médecin d’examiner votre œsophage et de voir si le reflux gastrique a causé de l’inflammation ou si vous êtes atteint de l’œsophage de Barrett. Votre médecin peut également se servir de l’endoscope pour visualiser des anomalies dans votre estomac et votre intestin grêle. Apprenez-en davantage au sujet des tests disponibles ici.

De plus, il existe des données probantes indiquant qu’une petite proportion de ceux qui vivent avec l’œsophage de Barrett courent un risque accru de développer le cancer de l’œsophage. La détection précoce est la clé. Si vous ou une personne qui vous est chère ressentez des brûlures chroniques d’estomac, ne les ignorez pas! Consultez votre médecin.

Articles Liés :

Voir toutes les nouvelles et articles

Women holding chest with GERD

Qu’est-ce que le RGO et quelles complications pourraient en découler?