This presentation was made possible due to an unrestricted educational grant from PepsiCo Canada.
This presentation, by Kristy Du, Ph.D was done at CDHF’s #TrendingNow: Putting the Biggest Gut Health Trends under the Microscope November-January 2022.
Are oats gluten free? The short answer is yes, oats are inherently gluten free, but as oats are grown in the field and while they are being transported or processed, stray gluten containing grains such as wheat, rye or barley can make their way into oats that can cause many oat products to have gluten contamination. This is because oats are often grown in fields nearby fields of other grains, where in plant materials like seeds can unintentionally make its way to an oat field. Oats may also share transportation, storage or processing equipment with other grains, or be housed in facilities that also process non-oat grains.
We know that for some people, a gluten free diet is important and necessary, and that is why Quaker has taken the time and effort to develop a gluten free oatmeal using innovative technologies that adhere to gluten free regulations. Their team of experts developed a breakthrough cleaning system to sort and clean oats to ensure that Quaker gluten free oats can be enjoyed and trusted by those leading a gluten free lifestyle. Watch the presentation to learn more.