Dr. Kevin Waschke

Dr. Kevin Waschke

Dr Kevin Waschke received his medical degree from McGill University. He subsequently completed residency training in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology, followed by a Fellowship in Endoscopic Ultrasonography and Therapeutic Endoscopy.

He has been a practicing gastroenterologist at the McGill University Health Center since 2004, where he was the Program Director for EUS and ERCP from 2005 to 2015 and Endoscopy Director from 2015 to 2018.

Dr Waschke subsequently became a member of the Center for Medical Education after completing the Teaching Scholars Program at McGill University and the coursework for a Master’s degree in Educational Psychology. He serves on several education committees, most notably with the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE) and Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG), having been the CAG VP Educational Affairs from 2013 to 2018.

Dr Waschke has been a leader in the design, implementation and management of innovative endoscopy training programs – most notable the CAG Skills Enhancement in Endoscopy (SEE) program and the ASGE Skills, Training, Assessment and Reinforcement (STAR) Program.

He has received numerous awards for education, including a Canadian Association of Medical Education Certificate of Merit (2013), CAG Young Educator (2013) and Royal College of Canada Accredited Provider Innovation Awards (2012 and 2016). He is currently the President Elect of the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology and a board member for the Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF). David Armstrong has research interests in upper gastrointestinal disease, nutrition, education and practice audit; he is principal investigator for a number of multicentre studies on dyspepsia and gastroesophageal reflux disease with over 120 peer-reviewed publications, 70 invited articles and 200 peer-reviewed presentations at learned societies.

He was Chief of Clinical Service for Gastroenterology (2000-2007) and is Past-President of the HHS Medical Staff Association (2005-7), a member of the International Working Group on the Classification of Oesophagitis (IWGCO; 1994-present), a member of the Organizing Committee for the Annual CAG/CASL Canadian Gastroenterology Fellows’ Postgraduate Training Courses (1996-2007), Chair of the CAG Endoscopy Committee and a participant in the Canadian Consensus Conferences on the Management of Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (1996 and 2004), Helicobacter pylori-related diseases (1998) and Upper Gastrointestinal Bleeding (2002), the Latin-American consensus on gastro-oesophageal reflux disease (2005) and the Montreal Definition and Classification of GERD Working Group.

As Chair of the CAG Endoscopy Committee, he has overseen the recent series of Canadian credentialing guidelines for gastrointestinal endoscopy; he was also a member of the Cancer Care Ontario Colonoscopy Standards Expert Panel (2007).

Return to CDHF Board of Directors