Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Quebec Biosimilars Initiative

CDHF

Written by: CDHF

Updated: February 20th, 2024

What has changed in the Quebec Drug Plan Coverage for Biologics?

On May 18, 2021 the Minister of Health and Social Services, Christian Dubé, announced that the Quebec government is initiating a biosimilars Initiative which involves switching patients from originator biologic drugs to their biosimilar versions. It follows the successful implementations of similar initiatives by British Columbia and Alberta. In addition, switching to biosimilars has been conducted extensively in Europe, where countries have had over 15 years of experience with biosimilars. 

Since April 12, 2022, Quebec’s Health Insurance Plan (RAMQ) has only covered the use of the following biosimilars, used to treat Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis:

Read the statement released May 18, 2021 by the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services about the Biosimilars Initiative.

The Rise of Biosimilars in Canadian Healthcare:

The rise of biologics and biosimilars in Canada has led to soaring drug plan costs, with no signs of slowing down. Biosimilars are antibodies created in the laboratory from living cells that stop certain proteins in the body from causing inflammation, helping with uncomfortable symptoms of IBD. However, biosimilars offer up to 50% cost savings while delivering equivalent health benefits. British Columbia led the way in biosimilar adoption, saving millions. This change is happening because biosimilars nationwide could save billions of dollars, easing pressure on the healthcare system. Learn more by watching the video below.

New Patients:

If you’re newly diagnosed with IBD, your physician may have recommended to start biologic therapy. So what does this mean? Biologics are antibodies created in a laboratory from living cells that stop certain proteins in the body from causing inflammation. Biosimilars are created using the same process as an original biologic, with no clinically meaningful differences in safety and efficacy.  CDHF knows starting any medication can be very stressful. Watch the video below to learn more.

Transitioned Patients:

425,000 Canadians are living with Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). If you’re among them, your doctor might have suggested transitioning from a biologic to a biosimilar. Health Canada confirms biosimilars’ effectiveness and safety, assuring no expected differences in efficacy or safety compared to the reference biologic drug.

Making the switch supports better patient care, with savings directed towards expanding subsidized medications, enhancing patient access, and advancing new medical treatments. At CDHF, we understand the stress of changing medications. Explore our biosimilar library for informative resources to seamlessly transition to your new treatment. Watch the video below to learn more.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is a biologic?

Biologic (reference) drugs are medications made by using living organisms (such as yeast or animal cells) to produce complex proteins that are purified then administered to affect certain processes in the human body.

2. What is a biosimilar?

A biosimilar is a drug demonstrated to be highly similar to a biologic (reference) drug, that has been authorized for sale in Canada.

3. What do experts say about the safety and efficacy of biosimilars?

Health Canada is responsible for ensuring the safety, efficacy, and quality of all new drugs including biologics and biosimilars. For a biosimilar drug to be approved in Canada, Health Canada must find no meaningful differences in safety and effectiveness compared to the biologic.

“The government’s initiative to increase the use of biosimilars makes sense, as the resulting savings have been guaranteed to stay in the public drug plans to fund new drugs. Biosimilars are just as safe and effective as the originator versions, as demonstrated by the experiences in British Columbia, Alberta and Europe.” – Dr. Mark MacMillan, Gastroenterologist and Assistant Professor in Division of Digestive Care & Endoscopy at Dalhousie University Department of Medicine

See more here.

4. Do I have to switch to a biosimilar?

As part of the biosimilars initiative, if you receive coverarage in Quebec and you currently take Remicade® or Humira®for the treatment of Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis, you must switch to the biosimilar version before the end of the transition period (April 12, 2022) to avoid any disruption to your coverage. There may be medical reasons why you cannot switch to a biosimilar. Your healthcare provider can help you determine if it is medically necessary to remain on a biologic (reference) drug and will confirm if you qualify for an exemption.

5. Why is the change happening?

The Minister of Health and Social Services, Christian Dubé, announces that the Quebec government is initiating a shift in favor of the use of biosimilar drugs, which will generate annual savings of more than $ 100 million, only for the public health plan. drug insurance and its insureds. These savings will be reinvested in the health system, in particular to improve access to innovative drug therapies.

Despite the inclusion of several biosimilar drugs on the drug lists for many years following recommendations issued by the National Institute of Excellence in Health and Social Services (INESSS), they remain underused. This situation generates a considerable additional cost for the General Prescription Drug Insurance Plan since biosimilar drugs are significantly less expensive than reference drugs, with no difference in therapy for patients.

“Innovation is giving rise to incredible medical advances and to the development of healthcare practices and offers that are always better suited to people’s needs. The decisive shift we are taking towards the judicious use of biosimilar drugs is a good example of this. I am convinced that this will help ensure the sustainability and viability of our health system. We have the health of the population at heart and the actions taken in this matter are in the interest and for the benefit of patients.” – Christian Dubé, Minister of Health and Social Services 

CDHF Resource Links

Learn More

Other Relevant Resources

Related Articles:

View all News & Articles

newfoundland

Newfoundland and Labrador Biosimilars Policy

Photo of Toronto CN Tower

Ontario Biosimilars Policy

Test tubes of a drug

Switching from a Biologic to a Biosimilar Drug in Canada

Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Saskatchewan Biosimilars Initiative

Biosimilars Initiatives Banner

Biosimilars Initiatives

British Columbia Flag marking a map of Canada

BC Biosimilars Initiative: Phase Two Information

Map of Alberta close up

Alberta Health Biosimilars Initiative

Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Nova Scotia Biosimilar Initiative

CDHF Talks: Dietary Updates and Recommendations for the IBD Patient on a Biosimilar

Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Quebec Biosimilars Initiative

Flag of New Brunswick on a pin stuck on a map showing New Brunswick

New Brunswick Biosimilars Initiative

IBD Animation

Switching from a Biologic to a Biosimilar

What’s Health Canada Saying about Biosimilars?

Teen boy talking to doctor

Biosimilars for IBD: Making the Transition Webinar

CDHF Talks: Your New Infusion Clinic

Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Initiative québécoise sur les biosimilaires

CDHF

Écrit par : CDHF

Mis à jour : February 13th, 2024

Qu’est-ce qui a changé dans la couverture des médicaments biologiques du Québec?

Le 18 mai 2021, le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Christian Dubé, a annoncé que le gouvernement du Québec lançait une initiative sur les biosimilaires qui consiste à faire passer les patients des médicaments biologiques d’origine à leurs versions biosimilaires. Elle fait suite à la mise en œuvre réussie d’initiatives similaires par la Colombie-Britannique et l’Alberta. En outre, le passage aux biosimilaires a été largement mené en Europe, où les pays ont plus de 15 ans d’expérience avec les biosimilaires.

Depuis le 12 avril 2022, le régime d’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) couvre uniquement l’utilisation des biosimilaires suivants, utilisés pour traiter la maladie de Crohn et la colite ulcéreuse :

Lire la déclaration publiée le 18 mai 2021 par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec au sujet de l’initiative sur les biosimilaires.

L’essor des biosimilaires dans le secteur de la santé au Canada :

L’essor des produits biologiques et biosimilaires au Canada a entraîné une hausse vertigineuse des coûts des régimes d’assurance-médicaments, qui ne semble pas près de s’atténuer. Les biosimilaires sont des anticorps créés en laboratoire à partir de cellules vivantes qui empêchent certaines protéines de l’organisme de provoquer une inflammation, ce qui permet de soulager les symptômes inconfortables des MICI. Cependant, les biosimilaires permettent de réaliser jusqu’à 50 % d’économies tout en offrant des avantages équivalents en termes de santé. La Colombie-Britannique a ouvert la voie à l’adoption de biosimilaires, ce qui a permis d’économiser des millions de dollars. Ce changement intervient parce que les biosimilaires à l’échelle nationale pourraient permettre d’économiser des milliards de dollars, allégeant ainsi la pression sur le système de soins de santé. Pour en savoir plus, regardez la vidéo ci-dessous.

Nouveaux patients :

Si vous venez de recevoir un diagnostic de MICI, votre médecin vous a peut-être recommandé de commencer un traitement biologique. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie ? Les médicaments biologiques sont des anticorps créés en laboratoire à partir de cellules vivantes qui empêchent certaines protéines de l’organisme de provoquer une inflammation. Les biosimilaires sont créés selon le même processus que le produit biologique original, sans différence cliniquement significative en termes de sécurité et d’efficacité. Le CDHF sait qu’il peut être très stressant de commencer à prendre un médicament. Regardez la vidéo ci-dessous pour en savoir plus.

Patients en transition :

425 000 Canadiens vivent avec une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (MII). Si vous en faites partie, votre médecin vous a peut-être suggéré de passer d’un produit biologique à un produit biosimilaire. Santé Canada confirme l’efficacité et la sécurité des biosimilaires, en assurant qu’il n’y a pas de différences attendues en termes d’efficacité ou de sécurité par rapport au médicament biologique de référence.

Le passage à l’euro permet d’améliorer les soins aux patients, les économies réalisées étant affectées au développement des médicaments subventionnés, à l’amélioration de l’accès des patients et à l’avancement de nouveaux traitements médicaux. Au CDHF, nous comprenons le stress lié au changement de médicaments. Explorez notre bibliothèque sur les biosimilaires pour trouver des ressources informatives qui vous permettront d’effectuer une transition en douceur vers votre nouveau traitement. Regardez la vidéo ci-dessous pour en savoir plus.

Questions fréquemment posées

1. Qu’est-ce qu’un produit biologique ?

Les médicaments biologiques (de référence) sont des médicaments fabriqués à partir d’organismes vivants (tels que des levures ou des cellules animales) pour produire des protéines complexes qui sont purifiées puis administrées afin d’agir sur certains processus du corps humain.

2. Qu’est-ce qu’un biosimilaire ?

Un biosimilaire est un médicament dont il a été démontré qu’il est très similaire à un médicament biologique (de référence) et dont la vente a été autorisée au Canada.

3. Que disent les experts de la sécurité et de l’efficacité des biosimilaires ?

Santé Canada est chargé de garantir la sécurité, l’efficacité et la qualité de tous les nouveaux médicaments, y compris les produits biologiques et les biosimilaires. Pour qu’un médicament biosimilaire soit approuvé au Canada, Santé Canada doit constater qu’il n’y a pas de différences significatives en termes de sécurité et d’efficacité par rapport au médicament biologique.

“L’initiative du gouvernement visant à accroître l’utilisation des biosimilaires est logique, car il a été garanti que les économies réalisées resteraient dans les régimes publics d’assurance-médicaments pour financer de nouveaux médicaments. Les biosimilaires sont tout aussi sûrs et efficaces que les versions originales, comme le démontrent les expériences de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta et de l’Europe. – Dr Mark MacMillan, gastro-entérologue et professeur adjoint à la division des soins digestifs et de l’endoscopie au département de médecine de l’université Dalhousie.

Plus d’informations ici.

4. Dois-je passer à un biosimilaire ?

Dans le cadre de l’initiative sur les biosimilaires, si vous bénéficiez d’une couverture au Québec et que vous prenez actuellement Remicade® ou Humira®pour le traitement de la maladie de Crohn ou de la colite ulcéreuse, vous devez passer à la version biosimilaire avant la fin de la période de transition (12 avril 2022) pour éviter toute interruption de votre couverture. Il peut y avoir des raisons médicales pour lesquelles vous ne pouvez pas passer à un biosimilaire. Votre médecin peut vous aider à déterminer s’il est médicalement nécessaire de continuer à prendre un médicament biologique (de référence) et vous confirmera si vous pouvez bénéficier d’une exemption.

5. Pourquoi ce changement se produit-il ?

Le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Christian Dubé, annonce que le gouvernement du Québec amorce un virage en faveur de l’utilisation des médicaments biosimilaires, ce qui générera des économies annuelles de plus de 100 millions de dollars, uniquement pour le régime public de santé. l’assurance médicaments et ses assurés. Ces économies seront réinvesties dans le système de santé, notamment pour améliorer l’accès aux thérapies médicamenteuses innovantes.

Malgré l’inscription de plusieurs médicaments biosimilaires sur les listes de médicaments depuis de nombreuses années suite aux recommandations de l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et services sociaux (INESSS), ils restent sous-utilisés. Cette situation engendre un surcoût considérable pour le régime général d’assurance des médicaments puisque les médicaments biosimilaires sont nettement moins chers que les médicaments de référence, sans qu’il y ait de différence de traitement pour les patients.

“L’innovation est à l’origine d’avancées médicales incroyables et du développement de pratiques et d’offres de soins toujours mieux adaptées aux besoins des personnes. Le virage décisif que nous prenons vers l’utilisation judicieuse des médicaments biosimilaires en est un bon exemple. Je suis convaincu que cela contribuera à assurer la durabilité et la viabilité de notre système de santé. Nous avons à cœur la santé de la population et les actions entreprises dans ce domaine sont dans l’intérêt et au bénéfice des patients”. Christian Dubé, ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux

Liens vers les ressources du CDHF

En savoir plus

Autres ressources pertinentes

Articles Liés :

Voir toutes les nouvelles et articles

Initiatives biosimilaires

Two cartoon medicine bottles on white background

Initiative québécoise sur les biosimilaires

Flag of Nova Scotia on a pin stuck on a map showing Nova Scotia

Nouveau-Brunswick Initiative sur les biosimilaires 

IBD Animation

MII: Changer d’un médicament biologique à un médicament biosimilaire

Que dit Santé Canada au sujet des produits biosimilaires?

Causeries de la FCSD: Votre nouvelle clinique de perfusion