man clutching stomach by toilet with clostridium difficile

Clostridium Difficile

Marwah Saeed, BSc (Hons), MBBS

Written by: Marwah Saeed, BSc (Hons), MBBS

Updated: March 6th, 2023

Have you heard of Clostridioides difficile? It is a leading cause of infectious diarrhea in hospitals and long-term care facilities in Canada (Pereira et al., 2020). Since the 2000s, there has been a dramatic increase in the number and severity of Clostridioides difficile infection cases across the globe (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021); according to research approximately 41% of these infections are acquired in the community (Mada & Alam, 2022).

So, what is Clostridioides difficile?

Clostridioides difficile, more commonly known as C. diff for short, is a type of bacteria that causes irritation and swelling of the colon (colitis) leading to gastrointestinal issues such as nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain and diarrhea (HealthLink BC, n.d).

C. diff lives in the intestines of 1-3% of people (HealthLink BC, n.d). In fact, it is considered a part of the natural gut flora, which means that it lives harmlessly in the large bowel along with other types of “good” bacteria. These bacteria function to keep the bowel healthy. However, if the natural balance of the gut bacteria is altered, C. diff can flourish and release toxins (poisons). This damages the intestine causing diarrhea and other health problems (HealthLink BC, n.d.; American College of Gastroenterology, 2021).

How is C. diff transmitted?

C. diff is transmitted through the fecal-oral route. It is found in feces of infected individuals and transfers through contact with contaminated hands or surfaces.  It is also contagious, spreading from person to person. Furthermore, it can persist on surfaces for a long time as inactivated or dormant spores (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC], 2021).  

What puts you at risk of C. diff infection?

C. diff can affect anyone, but most cases are associated with certain high-risks antibiotics such as clindamycin, quinolones and cephalosporins (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021). When used in high doses or for a prolonged period, they can alter the normal levels of the bacteria giving C. diff an opportunity to thrive (Public Health Agency of Canada, 2014).

Other factors that can put you at risk include:

  1. Medicines that reduce stomach acid, such as Nexium, Prevacid, or Losec
  2. Advanced age (65 and older)
  3. Weakened immune systems ex. people living with HIV/AIDS, cancer or organ transplant
  4. Pre-existing bowel conditions such as Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)
  5. Staying in a hospital or long-term care facilities
  6. Previous C. diff infection (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021, familydoctor.org, 2020)

What are the symptoms of C. diff?

Diarrhea is the most commonly reported symptom of C. diff. However, symptoms can range from mild to severe. Mild symptoms include 3 or more daily episodes of diarrhea for a few days and belly pain/tenderness. Severe symptoms can range from watery diarrhea with mucus or blood to fever, nausea, vomiting, belly cramps, bloating, loss of appetite and dehydration. Sometimes it can even progress to life-threatening colon inflammation (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021; familydoctor.org, 2020).  

What happens if I have symptoms?

Speak to your doctor. If C. diff infection is suspected, a stool test may be ordered. Treatment depends on the severity of symptoms. If the test is positive, your doctor will prescribe an appropriate antibiotic to treat the infection. Your doctor may also recommend stopping the antibiotic that led to the infection in the first place. However, this may not always be possible as some individuals require long-term antibiotics for underlying health conditions. Depending on the severity of symptoms, you may also need to be hospitalized. Sometimes complications may arise such as toxic megacolon, a condition in which the large bowel is dilated and at risk of perforation. In such cases, surgery might be considered to remove the affected portion of the intestine (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021; HealthLink BC, n.d.). By working together with your doctor, you can determine what the next steps, best suited, for you are.

Are there any steps I can take to prevent CDI?

There are several things you can do to prevent yourself from developing or spreading a C. diff infection.

These include strategies such a:

  1. Be cautious about hygiene. Wash your hands regularly with soap and warm water for at least 20 seconds. Remember Clostridium Difficile is contagious.
  2. Don’t take antibiotics unnecessarily. When you take antibiotics, the “good” bacteria in your intestines can also be killed, which may cause C. diff to grow out of control. Limit the use of antibiotics to bacterial infections, as prescribed by your doctor.
  3. Keep high-use surfaces or areas clean. Periodically clean these areas, especially the kitchen and bathroom. C. diff spores are hardy; be sure to use products containing chlorine bleach because it is an effective disinfectant against C. diff (familydoctor.org, 2020).

Another way is through the use of probiotics.

The World Health Organization (WHO) defines probiotics as “live microorganisms which when administered in adequate amounts confer a health benefit on the host (Hill et al., 2014). In simple terms, probiotics are “good bugs” or “good microbes” that improve certain aspects of our health. They are available as dietary supplements and can also be found in foods such as certain kinds of yogurt.

It’s important that you talk with a health care professional – your doctor, pharmacist, or dietitian – first before taking a probiotic supplement, to ensure you have a proper diagnosis or know why you are taking it. Together, you can select an appropriate probiotic that is the most suitable for you because probiotics aren’t all the same, and have different health benefits. One such probiotic is Florastor® which contains Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 (S. Boulardii). It is a type of yeast well known and recommended to reduce the incidence of antibiotic associated diarrhea to support a healthy digestive system by promoting helpful gut flora and strengthening the immune system (Bowman, 2017).

Research into S. Boulardii dates back to the 1990s. Recent studies have determined that S. Boulardii not only reduces the risk of antibiotic associated diarrhea but also lowers the recurrence rate of C. diff infection. In fact, a 2017 systematic review and meta-analysis concluded that S. Boulardii reduced the risk of antibiotic associated diarrhea caused by C. Diff, while a systematic review and meta-analysis published out of The American Journal of Gastroenterology confirmed the efficacy of S. Boulardii in reducing the recurrence rate of C. diff infections (Goldenberg, 2017; Tariq et al., 2021).

References

American College of Gastroenterology. (2021, October 26). C. difficile infection. Retrieved February 7, 2023, from https://gi.org/topics/c-difficile-infection/

Bowman, J. (2017, September 2). What yeast is good for the gut? Healthline. Retrieved February 8, 2023, from https://www.healthline.com/health/what-yeast-is-good-for-the-gut

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2021, July 20). Prevent the spread of C. Diff. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved February 8, 2023, from https://www.cdc.gov/cdiff/prevent.html#anchor_1540398219

familydoctor.org. (2020, January 3). Clostridium difficile (C. diff.) infection: Causes and risks. Retrieved February 8, 2023, from https://familydoctor.org/condition/clostridium-difficile-c-diff-infection/

Goldenberg, J. Z., Yap, C., Lytvyn, L., Lo, C. K., Beardsley, J., Mertz, D., & Johnston, B. C. (2017). Probiotics for the prevention of Clostridium difficile-associated diarrhea in adults and children. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 12(12), CD006095. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006095.pub4

HealthLink BC (n.d.). Clostridioides Difficile (C. diff) Colitis. Retrieved February 10, 2023, from https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/health-topics/clostridioides-difficile-c-diff-colitis

Hill, C., Guarner, F., Reid, G., Gibson, G.R., Merenstein, D.J., Pot, B., Morelli, L., Canani, R.B., Flint, H.J., Salminen, S., Calder, P.C., & Sanders, M.E. (2014). The International Scientific Association for Probiotics and Prebiotics consensus statement on the scope and appropriate use of the term probiotic. Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 11(8), 506-514. https://doi.org/10.1038/nrgastro.2014.66.

Mada, P.K., Alam, M.U. (2022, May 1). Clostridioides Difficile – StatPearls [Internet], NCBI   Bookshelf. StatPearls Publishing. Retrieved February 8, 2023, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK431054/

Pereira, J. A., McGeer, A., Tomovici, A., Selmani, A., & Chit, A. (2020, January 1). Incidence and economic burden of clostridioides difficile infection in Ontario: A retrospective population-based study. CMAJ Open. Retrieved February 9, 2023, from https://www.cmajopen.ca/content/8/1/E16

Public Health Agency of Canada. (2014, May 2). Government of Canada. Canada.ca. Retrieved February 6, 2023, from https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/infectious-diseases/fact-sheet-clostridium-difficile-difficile.html

Tariq, R., Yadav, D., Tahir, M. W., Sehgal, K., Pardi, D., & Khanna, S. (2021). S136 efficacy of saccharomyces boulardii for prevention of Clostridioides Difficile Infection: A systematic review and meta-analysis. American Journal of Gastroenterology, 116(1). https://doi.org/10.14309/01.ajg.0000773016.43460.eb

Related Articles:

View all News & Articles

Clostridium Difficile Infection: Frequently Asked Questions

woman with viral gastroenteritis clutching her stomach on pink background

What is Gastroenteritis?

tampons, pads and menstrual cups on a pink background

Period Poop 101

Toilet paper with smiley face

Is my Poop Healthy/Normal?

Antibiotic-Associated Diarrhea

family on the beach preparing for vacation with travellers' diarrhea

Travellers’ Diarrhea

man clutching stomach by toilet with clostridium difficile

Clostridium Difficile

antibiotics

Should You Take Probiotics While on Antibiotics?

A Pharmacist’s Guide to Choosing the Right Probiotic

Culturelle® Kids Probiotics  – CDHF Certified Product

Women with balloon in front of her belly

Demystifying Digestive Issues: What to Consider with Bloating, Reflux, and Changes in Bowels

How to Find Functional Foods with Added Probiotics

Doctors smiling and shaking hands

Understanding IBS-D Webinar

Man and women clenching their stomachs feeling sick

DUKORAL® Materials Requisition

Kids running outside with pool floaties on vacation

The Facts on Diarrhea when Travelling

Family at christmas around the table

Top Tips for Digestive Troubles

CDHF Talks: Stool Tests for GI Disorders

Dukoral product image

Dukoral – CDHF Certified Product

man clutching stomach by toilet

Clostridium Difficile

Marwah Saeed, BSc (Hons), MBBS

Écrit par : Marwah Saeed, BSc (Hons), MBBS

Mis à jour : July 31st, 2023

Avez-vous entendu parler de Clostridioides difficile? Il s’agit d’une des principales causes de diarrhée infectieuse dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de soins de longue durée au Clostridium Difficile.

Avez-vous entendu parler de Clostridioides difficile? Il s’agit d’une des principales causes de diarrhée infectieuse dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de soins de longue durée au Canada (Pereira et al., 2020). Depuis les années 2000, le nombre et la gravité des cas d’infection à Clostridioides difficile ont considérablement augmenté dans le monde entier (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021) ; d’après les recherches, environ 41 % de ces infections sont contractées dans la communauté (Mada & Alam, 2022).

Qu’est-ce que Clostridioides difficile ?

Clostridioides difficile, plus communément appelé C. diff, est un type de bactérie qui provoque une irritation et un gonflement du côlon (colite) entraînant des problèmes gastro-intestinaux tels que nausées, vomissements, douleurs abdominales et diarrhée (HealthLink BC, n.d).

C. diff vit dans les intestins de 1 à 3 % des personnes (HealthLink BC, n.d). En fait, elle est considérée comme faisant partie de la flore intestinale naturelle, ce qui signifie qu’elle vit sans danger dans le gros intestin avec d’autres types de “bonnes” bactéries. Ces bactéries ont pour fonction de maintenir l’intestin en bonne santé. Toutefois, si l’équilibre naturel des bactéries intestinales est altéré, le C. diff peut se développer et libérer des toxines (poisons). Cela endommage l’intestin, provoquant des diarrhées et d’autres problèmes de santé (HealthLink BC, n.d. ; American College of Gastroenterology, 2021).

Comment le C. diff se transmet-il ? 

Le C. diff se transmet par voie fécale-orale. Il se trouve dans les excréments des personnes infectées et se transmet par contact avec des mains ou des surfaces contaminées. Elle est également contagieuse et se transmet d’une personne à l’autre. En outre, il peut persister longtemps sur les surfaces sous forme de spores inactivées ou dormantes (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC], 2021). 

Qu’est-ce qui vous expose au risque d’infection par le C. diff?

Le C. diff peut toucher n’importe qui, mais la plupart des cas sont associés à certains antibiotiques à haut risque tels que la clindamycine, les quinolones et les céphalosporines (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021). Lorsqu’ils sont utilisés à fortes doses ou pendant une période prolongée, ils peuvent modifier les niveaux normaux de la bactérie, ce qui permet à C. diff de se développer (Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2014).

D’autres facteurs peuvent vous mettre en danger :

  1. Médicaments qui réduisent l’acidité de l’estomac, tels que Nexium, Prevacid ou Losec
  2. Âge avancé (65 ans et plus)
  3. Systèmes immunitaires affaiblis ex. les personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida, le cancer ou une transplantation d’organe
  4. Affections intestinales préexistantes telles que les maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin (MII)
  5. Séjour à l’hôpital ou dans un établissement de soins de longue durée
  6. Infection à C. diff antérieure (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021, familydoctor.org, 2020)

Quels sont les symptômes du C. diff ?

La diarrhée est le symptôme le plus fréquemment rapporté du C. diff. Cependant, les symptômes peuvent varier de léger à sévère. Les symptômes légers comprennent au moins trois épisodes quotidiens de diarrhée pendant quelques jours et une douleur ou une sensibilité au niveau du ventre. Les symptômes graves peuvent aller de la diarrhée aqueuse avec mucus ou sang à la fièvre, aux nausées, aux vomissements, aux crampes abdominales, aux ballonnements, à la perte d’appétit et à la déshydratation. Parfois, elle peut même évoluer vers une inflammation du côlon potentiellement mortelle (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021 ; familydoctor.org, 2020). 

Que se passe-t-il si je présente des symptômes ? 

Parlez-en à votre médecin. En cas de suspicion d’infection à C. diff, un test de selles peut être demandé. Le traitement dépend de la gravité des symptômes. Si le test est positif, votre médecin vous prescrira un antibiotique approprié pour traiter l’infection. Votre médecin peut également vous recommander d’arrêter l’antibiotique à l’origine de l’infection. Toutefois, cela n’est pas toujours possible car certaines personnes ont besoin d’antibiotiques à long terme pour des problèmes de santé sous-jacents. Selon la gravité des symptômes, une hospitalisation peut s’avérer nécessaire. Des complications peuvent parfois survenir, telles que le mégacôlon toxique, une affection dans laquelle le gros intestin est dilaté et présente un risque de perforation. Dans ce cas, une intervention chirurgicale peut être envisagée pour retirer la partie de l’intestin affectée (American College of Gastroenterology, 2021 ; HealthLink BC, n.d.). En discutant avec votre médecin, vous pouvez déterminer quelles sont les prochaines étapes qui vous conviennent le mieux.

Y a-t-il des mesures à prendre pour prévenir l’ICD ?

Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour éviter de développer ou de propager une infection à C. diff.

Il s’agit notamment de stratégies telles que

  1. Soyez prudent en matière d’hygiène. Lavez-vous régulièrement les mains avec du savon et de l’eau chaude pendant au moins 20 secondes. Se souvenir le Clostridium Difficile est contagieux.
  2. Ne prenez pas d’antibiotique inutilement. Lorsque vous prenez des antibiotiques, les “bonnes” bactéries présentes dans vos intestins peuvent également être détruites, ce qui peut entraîner une prolifération incontrôlée du C. diff. Limitez l’utilisation d’antibiotiques aux infections bactériennes, comme prescrit par votre médecin.
  3. Veillez à la propreté des surfaces ou des zones les plus utilisées. Nettoyez régulièrement ces zones, en particulier la cuisine et la salle de bains. Les spores de C. diff sont résistantes ; veillez à utiliser des produits contenant de l’eau de Javel, car c’est un désinfectant efficace contre C. diff (familydoctor.org, 2020).

Un autre moyen consiste à utiliser des probiotiques.

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) définit les probiotiques comme des “micro-organismes vivants qui, lorsqu’ils sont administrés en quantités adéquates, confèrent un bénéfice pour la santé de l’hôte” (Hill et al., 2014). En termes simples, les probiotiques sont de “bons micro-organismes” qui améliorent certains aspects de notre santé. Ils sont disponibles sous forme de compléments alimentaires et peuvent également être présents dans des aliments tels que certains types de yaourts.

Il est important de consulter un professionnel de la santé (médecin, pharmacien ou diététicien) avant de prendre un supplément probiotique, afin de s’assurer que vous avez reçu un diagnostic approprié ou que vous savez pourquoi vous le prenez. Ensemble, vous pouvez choisir le probiotique qui vous convient le mieux, car les probiotiques ne sont pas tous identiques et ont des effets bénéfiques différents sur la santé. L’un de ces probiotiques est Florastor® qui contient Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 (S. Boulardii). Il s’agit d’un type de levure bien connu et recommandé pour réduire l’incidence de la diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques et pour soutenir un système digestif sain en favorisant une flore intestinale utile et en renforçant le système immunitaire (Bowman, 2017).

Les recherches sur S. Boulardii remontent aux années 1990. Des études récentes ont montré que S. Boulardii réduit non seulement le risque de diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques, mais aussi le taux de récurrence de l’infection à C. diff. En fait, une étude systématique et une méta-analyse réalisées en 2017 ont conclu que  S. Boulardii a réduit le risque de diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques, causée par  C. Diff, tandis qu’une revue systématique et une méta-analyse publiées dans The American Journal of Gastroenterology ont confirmé l’efficacité de la  S. Boulardii dans la réduction du taux de récurrence des  C. diff (Goldenberg, 2017 ; Tariq et al., 2021).

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur Florastor®, veuillez visiter Florastor® Canada.


Références

Collège américain de gastroentérologie. (2021, 26 octobre). Infection à C. difficile. Consulté le 7 février 2023, à l’adresse suivante : https://gi.org/topics/c-difficile-infection/

Bowman, J. (2017, 2 septembre). Quelle levure est bonne pour l’intestin ? Healthline. Consulté le 8 février 2023 sur le site https://www.healthline.com/health/what-yeast-is-good-for-the-gut

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies). (2021, 20 juillet). Prévenir la propagation du C. Diff. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies). Consulté le 8 février 2023 sur le site https://www.cdc.gov/cdiff/prevent.html#anchor_1540398219

familydoctor.org. (2020, 3 janvier). Infection à Clostridium difficile (C. diff.) : Causes et risques. Consulté le 8 février 2023 sur le site https://familydoctor.org/condition/clostridium-difficile-c-diff-infection/

Goldenberg, J. Z., Yap, C., Lytvyn, L., Lo, C. K., Beardsley, J., Mertz, D. et Johnston, B. C. (2017). Probiotiques pour la prévention de la diarrhée associée à Clostridium difficile chez les adultes et les enfants. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 12(12), CD006095. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006095.pub4

HealthLink BC (n.d.). Colite à Clostridioides Difficile (C. diff). Consulté le 10 février 2023, à l’adresse suivante : https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/health-topics/clostridioides-difficile-c-diff-colitis

Hill, C., Guarner, F., Reid, G., Gibson, G.R., Merenstein, D.J., Pot, B., Morelli, L., Canani, R.B., Flint, H.J., Salminen, S., Calder, P.C. et Sanders, M.E. (2014). Déclaration de consensus de l’Association scientifique internationale pour les probiotiques et les prébiotiques sur la portée et l’utilisation appropriée du terme probiotique. Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 11(8), 506-514. https://doi.org/10.1038/nrgastro.2014.66.

Mada, P.K., Alam, M.U. (2022, 1er mai). Clostridioides Difficile – StatPearls [Internet], NCBI Bookshelf. StatPearls Publishing. Consulté le 8 février 2023 sur le site https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK431054/

Pereira, J. A., McGeer, A., Tomovici, A., Selmani, A. et Chit, A. (2020, 1er janvier). Incidence et fardeau économique de l’infection à Clostridioides difficile en Ontario : Une étude rétrospective basée sur la population. CMAJ Open. Consulté le 9 février 2023, à l’adresse suivante : https://www.cmajopen.ca/content/8/1/E16

Agence de santé publique du Canada. (2014, 2 mai). Gouvernement du Canada. Canada.ca. Consulté le 6 février 2023 sur le site https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/infectious-diseases/fact-sheet-clostridium-difficile-difficile.html

Tariq, R., Yadav, D., Tahir, M. W., Sehgal, K., Pardi, D. et Khanna, S. (2021). S136 efficacité de saccharomyces boulardii pour la prévention de l’infection à Clostridioides Difficile : Une revue systématique et une méta-analyse. American Journal of Gastroenterology, 116(1). https://doi.org/10.14309/01.ajg.0000773016.43460.eb

Articles Liés :

Voir toutes les nouvelles et articles

Infection à Clostridium Difficile : Questions fréquemment posées

woman with viral gastroenteritis clutching her stomach on pink background

Qu’est-ce que la gastro-entérite ?

tampons, pads and menstrual cups on a pink background

Caca de règles 101

Diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques

family on the beach preparing for vacation with travellers' diarrhea

Diarrhée du voyageur

man clutching stomach by toilet

Clostridium Difficile

antibiotics

Faut-il prendre des probiotiques pendant la prise d’antibiotiques ?

Guide du pharmacien pour choisir le bon probiotique

Culturelle® Kids Probiotics – Produit certifié par le CDHF

Pensez-vous souffrir du syndrome du côlon irritable (SCI)?

Man and women clenching their stomachs feeling sick

Demande de documents sur DUKORAL®

Toilet paper beside the toilet

La diarrhée comme symptôme du coronavirus (COVID-19)

À propos de la diarrhée contractée en voyage

Dukoral product image

Dukoral – Avis sur les produits certifiés FCSD